Visual Universitätsmedizin Mainz

External Scientific Advisory Board (ESAB)

The External Scientific Advisory Board (ESAB) evaluates the CTH in all areas of scientific and structural development, including research strategies, appointment of staff, quality control, allocation of BMBF funding, and monitoring of BMBF requirements. The ESAB is particularly involved in all major financial decisions, the set-up of research groups, and investigator-initiated clinical trials. Internal procedures and workflows of the CTH are evaluated annually by the ESAB.

The ESAB consists of elected experts in the field of thrombosis and hemostasis research, cardiovascular diseases, health care, therapy and drug development.

ESAB Meetings, second funding period (2015-2020)

1st Meeting: October 5, 2015

2nd Meeting: October 28, 2016

3rd Meeting: October 19/20, 2017

4th Meeting: November 8, 2018

Speaker of the ESAB

MD Pabinger-Fasching
Ingrid Pabinger-Fasching, MD
Position: Professorship for Haemostaseology
Medical University of Vienna, Austria
Chair elect: ISTH Council

Further Information

Deputy Speaker of the ESAB

PhD Preissner
Klaus T. Preissner , PhD
Position: Spokesman Department of Biochemistry
Faculty of Medicine
Justus-Liebig-University Giessen, Germany

Members of the ESAB

MD De Groot
Philip G. De Groot, MD
Position: Professor of Biochemistry of Thrombosis & Hemostasis
Department of Clinical Chemistry & Hematology
University Medical Center, Utrecht, The Netherlands

Further Information

PhD Elvers
Margitta Elvers, PhD
Position: Head of Molecular Hemostasis
Institute for Hemostasis, Hemotherapy & Transfusion Medicine
University Medical Center Düsseldorf, Germany

Further Information

MD Gawaz
Meinrad Gawaz, MD
Position: Medical Director
Internal Medicine III – Cardiology & Cardiovascular disease
DHZ – German Heart Center
University Medical Center Tübingen, Germany

Further Information

MD Jilma
Bernd Jilma, MD
Position: Associate Professor of Clinical Pharmacology & Internal Medicine
Vice Chair Department of Clinical Pharmacology
Medical University of Vienna, Austria

Further Information

MD Kemkes-Matthes
Bettina Kemkes-Matthes, MD
Position: Head of Interdisciplinary Center for Hemostasis
Department of Hematology/Oncology, Angiology & Hemostasis
Medical University of Giessen & Marburg, Germany

Chair: GTH

Further Information

MD MSc Misselwitz
Frank Misselwitz, MD MSc
Position: Head Global Clinical Development Cardiovascular
Bayer Pharma AG, Wuppertal, Germany

Further Information

MD Moll
Stephan Moll, MD
Position: Professor of Medicine
Department of Medicine, Division of Hematology-Oncology
University of North Carolina School of Medicine, Chapel Hill, USA

Further Information

MD MSc Rodger
Marc Rodger, MD MSc
Position: Departments of Medicine, Epidemiology & Community Medicine & Obstetrics & Gynecology
Chief and Chair of the Division of Hematology
Ottawa Hospital Research Institute, Ottawa, Canada

Further Information

PhD van Ryn
Joanne van Ryn, PhD
Position: Global Director, Dabigatran Scientific Support
Department CardioMetabolic Disease Research
Boehringer Ingelheim Pharma GmbH & Co KG

Further Information

Former members of the Advisory Board

Roland Derwand, MD, LEUKOCARE AG, Martinsried

Prof. Klaus Dugi, Boehringer Ingelheim GmbH, Ingelheim am Rhein

Prof. Gregory Lip, University of Birmingham, Centre for Cardiovascular Sciences

Prof. Dr. J.W.M. Heemskerk, PhD, Cardiovascular Research Institute, Maastricht

Prof. Stefan Hohnloser, MD, University Hospital Frankfurt, Department Elektrophysiology

Prof. Malte Kelm, MD, Medical Clinic, Department of Cardiology, Düsseldorf University Hospital

Prof. Thomas Meinertz, MD, Former. Director of the Department of Cardiology and Angiology, University Heart Center Hamburg gGmbH

Eva Mühlhofer, MD, Bayer Vital GmbH, Leverkusen

Prof. Ludwig Neyses, Manchester Royal Infirmary, Manchester

Prof. Johannes Oldenburg, MD, Institute of Experimental Haematolgy and Transfusion Medicine and the Haemophilia Center, University Clinic Bonn

W. Dieter Paar, M.D., Director Medical & Scientific Affairs Germany Austria Switzerland SANOFI

Prof. Hans-Hartmut Peter, MD, Clinical Direktor ret., University Medical Center Freiburg, CCI - Centre of Chronic Immunodeficiency

Prof. Sebastian Schellong, MD, Medical Division II, Municipal Hospital Friedrichstadt, Dresden

Prof. Martin Schumacher, Institute of Medical Biometry and Medical Informatics, University of Freiburg

ESAB Meetings, first funding period (2010-2015)

  • Kick-Off:    October 14-15, 2010
  • 1st Meeting: Januar 17, 2011
  • 2nd Meeting: June 27, 2011
  • 3rd Meeting: January 23-14, 2012
  • 4th Meeting: June 18-19, 2012
  • 5th Meeting: February 4-5, 2013
  • 6th Meeting: June 24-25, 2013
  • 7th Meeting: January 20-21, 2014

July 2018