Gender-specific Medicine

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Andrea Pautz researches in the field of women's specific health research, with a focus on chronic inflammatory autoimmune diseases such as rheumatoid arthritis and systemic lupus erythematosus (SLE), which occur more frequently in women than in men. In particular it concerns: 

  • The molecular mechanisms leading to the development of chronic inflammatory diseases (e.g. asthma, rheumatoid arthritis), with focus on the expression and stability of pro-inflammatory genes. 

  • The identification of molecular, gender-specific differences that contribute to the female prevalence of the disease

  • The development of new therapeutic approaches to treat these autoimmune diseases.

CV of Jun.-Prof. Pautz

Publications

Research

Alumni

Group Leader

Prof. Dr. Pautz
Andrea Pautz, Prof. Dr.
Group Leader
Representative for Biological Safety

06131 17-9276
pautz@uni-mainz.de

Technical Assistance

Ihrig-Biedert
Irmgard Ihrig-Biedert

06131 17-9346
ihrig@uni-mainz.de

Masch
Kerstin Masch

06131 17-9346
masch@uni-mainz.de

Students

Platzhalterbild
Alexander Amann
MD student

06131 17-9369
aamann@students.uni-mainz.de

Palzer
Kim-Alicia Palzer
Ph.D. Student

06131 17-9369
06131 17-9329
kpalzer@students.uni-mainz.de

Platzhalterbild
Vera Plümer
MD student

06131 17-9369
verapluemer@live.com

Saurin
Sabrina Saurin
Ph.D. Student
(together with I. Med Klinik)

06131 17-9369
ssaurin@students.uni-mainz.de