Logo der Universitätsmedizin Mainz

Executive Board

Tasks of the Executive Board

The Executive Board meets regularly to decide upon elements of the program, financial issues, and future directions. The Board consists of representatives of all main research foci of the University Medical Center in addition to representatives of the group of TransMed Principal Investigators and TransMed Fellows. Additionally, each participating JGU Faculty (Biology, Chemistry, and Sports) is represented by one member each.

Members of the Executive Board



Univ.-Prof. Dr. med. Julia Weinmann-Menke, Department of Internal Medicine I, University Medical Center - Academic Director TransMed


Univ.-Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Tobias Bopp, Institute of Immunology, University Medical Center - Representative of the Principal Investigators


Univ.-Prof. Dr. Tommaso Gori, Department of Cardiology - Cardiology I, University Medical Center - Head of Teaching Translational Vascular Biology


Univ.-Prof. Dr. med. Thomas Kindler, University Cancer Center, University Medical Center - Head of Teaching Immunology



Univ.-Prof. Dr. Helen May-Simera, Institute of Molecular Physiology - Cilia Cell Biology - Representative of the Faculty of Biology


Univ.-Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Thomas Mittmann, Institute of Physiology, University Medical Center - Head of Teaching Translational Neurosciences


Univ-Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Dirk Schneider, Institute of Pharmacy and Biochemistry - Therapeutical Life Sciences - Representative of the Faculty of Chemistry, Pharmacy, and Geosciences


Dr. rer. nat. Petra M. Schwarz - Managing Director TransMed


Univ.-Prof. Dr. med. Dr. rer. nat. Perikles Simon, Institute of Sports Science - Representative of the Faculty of Social Sciences, Media, and Sport


N.N. - Representative of the TransMed Fellows