Logo der Universitätsmedizin Mainz


The first three clinician scientists started the Jumpstart Program in January 2020:


Dr. med. Maximilian Haist

Department of Dermatology

Research project: Relevance of ß2 integrins for the function of regulatory T cells within tumors


Dr. med. Kevin Jan Legscha

Department of Internal Medicine III

Research project: Understanding the mechanism of action of Δ133p53α-isoform as a potential novel molecular enhancer of T-cell effector function to improve T-cell based cancer immunotherapy


Muriel Schraad

Department of Neurology

Research project: Interactions of human lymphocytes in human neuronal cultures: a platform for testing
neuroprotective drugs

These six clinician scientists received their Jumpstart fellowship in 2021:


Dr. med. Simone Boedecker

Department of Internal Medicine I

Research project: Effect of physical activity on the disease activity of systemic lupus erythematosus in patients and in the lupus mouse model of MRL Faslpr Mice


Dr. med. sci. Tobias Brummer

Department of Neurology

Research project: Investigation of spatio-temporal neuroaxonal damage marker release from multiple sclerosis- and experimental autoimmune encephalitis lesions


Dr. med. Pascal Klimpke

Department of Internal Medicine I

Research project: ADVOS-ACLF-study – extracorporeal ADVance Organ Support (ADVOS) in patients with Acute-on-chronic liver failure (ACLF)


Dr. med. Vanessa Tomalla

Department of Internal Medicine I

Research project: Anti-N-Methyl-D-Aspartic Acid Receptor 2 antibody (anti-NR2) and its pathomechanistic role in fatigue in neuropsychiatric systemic lupus erythematosus (NPSLE)


Dr. med. Johannes Piepgras

Department of Neurology

Research project: Neurofilament and Glial Fibrillary Acidic Protein as emerging biomarkers for antibody-mediated encephalitis


Dr. med. Marco Stortz

Department of Internal Medicine I

Research project: OPTIMAINZ-AKI - A concept to improve the treatment of patients with acute kidney injury at the university medical center Mainz



Univ.-Prof. Dr. med. Stephan Grabbe
Department of Dermatology

Univ.-Prof. Dr. med. Julia Weinmann-Menke
Department of Internal Medicine I


Ivonne Dietzel
Mainz Research School of Translational Biomedicine (TransMed)